North America

Anglo-Saxon America

It was agreed to call “ Anglo-Saxon America ” to the group of countries: Canada and the USA, as opposed to the term “ Latin America ” which refers to the countries of South and Central America, and in some definitions, also Mexico and the Caribbean.

This name is due to the fact that these countries had their colonization carried out mainly by countries of Anglo-Saxon origin: “Anglo-Saxons” is the name given to the inhabitants of England after the victory of the Saxons, Germanic people, over the Britons.

However, this division is somewhat controversial, since it does not include some countries and other Caribbean territories that have English or other languages of Germanic origin as official language, and are or have been under the English domain (most of the Caribbean islands were colonized by Spaniards, but later became the domain of the English).

Another point of controversy is the fact that Canada during the period of its colonization was now under French rule, a Latin people, now under English rule, Germanic people, and its official languages are French and English. And in the Quebec region (formerly Canada, together with Ontario) French is the official language, since Canadian laws allow each province to choose its official language.

North America Hydrography

One of the peculiarities of the hydrography of the North American subcontinent is the abundance of lakes that are established in the region. Which, many of them, have their formation from the melting of glaciers or glacial origin that happened millions of years ago, as for example, the Great Lakes region that shelters, among others, the Superior, Michigan, Huron, Erie and Ontario.

The Great Lakes region is established between the United States and Canada, on the north-northeast border. However, the subcontinent’s hydrographic wealth is not restricted to lakes only, because North America has a generous amount of rivers, of which São Lourenço, Mississippi, Colorado, Columbia, Yukon and Mackenzie stand out.

Due to the number of rivers present in the territory of Anglo-Saxon America, many of them offer viable conditions for the implantation of waterways and also for the generation of electric energy through the installation of hydroelectric plants along rivers.

In waterway transport, the most used are the lakes (Great Lakes) and rivers that are found in areas of plains such as São Lourenço and the Mississippi. For energy generation, the lakes are explored, more precisely, the Niagara Falls, which is found between the Eriê and Ontario lakes. We can also highlight the rivers that go through plateau areas that are conducive to energy production, with this characteristic we have Columbia and Colorado, both in the United States.

Countries of America and their Capitals

The American continent comprises 35 countries distributed between North, Central and South America. See the countries and capitals on

The America is the continent located in the Western hemisphere of the planet, is located between the Pacific and the Atlantic Ocean. It is the second largest continent in the world, after Asia, with an area of 42 189 120 km² and a population that already reaches 1 billion inhabitants, according to 2016 estimate.

The name of the continent is due to a tribute to the Italian navigator Américo Vespúcio who lived between 1454 and 1512. He was the first to assert and disclose that Christopher Columbus had reached another continent and not the Indies.

The continent is home to great cultural and linguistic diversity, influenced by people from all over the world and the natives who already inhabited the territory when it was conquered.

The most economically developed countries in America are the United States and Canada. Mexico, Argentina and Brazil occupy the position of emerging nations.

The American continent comprises 35 countries that are distributed in three subcontinents: North America, Central America and South America.

Discover the countries of America and their capitals:

North America

1 – Canada – Ottawa

2- United States – Washington

3 – Mexico – Mexico City

Central America

4 – Antigua and Barbuda – Saint John’s

5 – Bahamas– Nassau

6 – Barbados – Bridgetown

7 – Belize – Belmopan

8 – Costa Rica – San José

9 – Cuba – Havana

10 – Dominica – Roseau

11 – El Salvador – San Salvador

12 – Granada – Saint George’s

13 – Guatemala – Guatemala City

14 – Haiti – Port-au-Prince

15 – Honduras – Tegucigalpa

16 – Jamaica – Kingston

17 – Nicaragua – Managua

18 – Panama – Panama City

19 – Dominican Republic – Santo Domingo

20 – Saint Lucia – Castries

21 – Saint Kitts and Nevis – Basseterre

22 – Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – Kingstown

23 – Trinidad and Tobago – Port of Spain

South America

24 – Argentina – Buenos Aires

25 – Bolivia – La Paz

26 – Brazil – Brasília

27 – Chile – Santiago

28 – Colombia – Bogotá

29 – Ecuador – Quito

30 – Guyana – Georgetown

31- Paraguay – Asuncion

32 – Peru – Lima

33 – Suriname – Paramaribo

34- Uruguay – Montevideo

35 – Venezuela – Caracas

North America 19

About the author